PRINCE - Piano & A Microphone 1983 (DELUXE EDITION – CD/LP)

PRINCE - Piano & A Microphone 1983 (DELUXE EDITION – CD/LP)


This is a pre-order and is expected to ship on or around September 21st.

The Deluxe CD+LP format will include a 12” booklet featuring brand new liner notes written by Prince’s then engineer Don Batts, as well as candid shots of Prince including never before seen images. Fans who pre-order the album via digital download will immediately receive an Instant Grat download of “Mary Don’t You Weep”.

  1. 17 Days

  2. Purple Rain

  3. A Case Of You

  4. Mary Don’t You Weep

  5. Strange Relationship

  6. International Lover

  7. Wednesday

  8. Cold Coffee & Cocaine

  9. Why The Butterflies


Recorded in 1983 at Prince’s Kiowa Trail home studio in Chanhassen, MN

Engineered by Don Batts

Add To Cart

The private rehearsal provides a rare, intimate glimpse into Prince’s creative process as he worked through songs which include “17 Days” and “Purple Rain” (neither of which would be released until 1984), a cover of Joni Mitchell’s “A Case Of You”, “Strange Relationship” (not released until 1987 on his critically acclaimed Sign O’ The Times album), and “International Lover”. The album also includes a rare recording of the 19th Century spiritual “Mary Don’t You Weep” which will be featured during the end credits of Spike Lee’s BlacKkKlansman in theaters August 2018. For fans of Prince’s spontaneous live medleys, tracks 1-7 of the album are presented in that same format as they were originally recorded.